Just felt like listening to this. And blogging it.

Cinderella, she seems so easy
“It takes one to know one,” she smiles
And puts her hands in her back pockets
Bette Davis style
And in comes Romeo, he’s moaning
“You Belong to Me I Believe”
And someone says, “You’re in the wrong place my friend
You better leave”
And the only sound that’s left
After the ambulances go
Is Cinderella sweeping up
On Desolation Row

[…]

Praise be to Nero’s Neptune
The Titanic sails at dawn
And everybody’s shouting
“Which Side Are You On?”
And Ezra Pound and T. S. Eliot
Fighting in the captain’s tower
While calypso singers laugh at them
And fishermen hold flowers
Between the windows of the sea
Where lovely mermaids flow
And nobody has to think too much
About Desolation Row

Contrast this with this:

Shysters live from scheme to scheme but my 4th quarter pipe dreams
Are seeming more and more worth fighting for
So I’ll curate some situations, make my job a big vacation
And I’ll say fuck Bush and fuck this war
My war paint is sharpie ink and I’ll show you how much my shit stinks
And ask you what you think because your thoughts and words are powerful
They think we’re disposable, well both my thumbs opposable
Are spelled out on a double word and triple letter score and

We won’t stop until somebody calls the cops
and even then we’ll start again
and just pretend that nothing ever happened

Nice way to end a weekend with this.

Leave a Reply

