Songbird, an Open Source Music Player offers the feature called MashTape where for the song that is being played, it pulls hajaar stuff from the web including bios, reviews from Amazon, videos from youtube, etc. I had installed it earlier but had not used it so extensively. Now, I was issued a new laptop and while setting up my favourite applications, decided to opt for Songbird as against default Windows Media Player.

So did that and then imported all my music into the library. I started with Pink Floyd. Immediately, I was offered all kinds of content. As I started going through them, I realised that this is not just an application where you leave the music playing in the background and continue to do your work. This application engages you. And you engage with it. In the process, you go deep into your music.

I would like a feature for lyrics and for microblogging about the song / artist that I am listening to. There is a last.fm addon but I haven’t figured how it works.

Anyway, let’s have some Pink Floyd. Anyone remember this album.

Dan Epstein of Amazon.com gives the editorial review (which Songbird has pulled up for me). It says

The last release from the Roger Waters-led incarnation of the band, The Final Cut is easily the most darkly provocative entry in the entire Pink Floyd catalog.

Dark it definitely is. And personal. The criticism, at times rabid, of Maggie Thatcher, the Falklands War, etc. is overpowering to ignore.

Atom Heart Mother, Pink Floyd
Atom Heart Mother, Pink Floyd

I first heard AHM when I must have been in 5th or 6th standard. An old cassette of a family friend found its way to my hands and I was extremely fascinated with the cow. So I put it on my tape recorder and heard Roger Waters intone If. The only piece in the album with any lyrics. And what a song. I take the liberty of posting the lyrics here.

If I were a swan, I’d be gone
If I were a train, I’d be late
If I were a good man, I’d talk with you more often than I do

If I were asleep, I could dream
If I were afraid, I could hide
If I go insane, please don’t put your wires in my brain

(Gilmour flirts with the guitar here)

If I were the moon I’d be cool
If I were a road, I would bend
If I were a good man, I’d understand the spaces between friends

If I were allowed, I would cry
If I were with you, I’d be home and dry
And if I go insance, will you still let me join in with the game.

Over and out for now.

5 thoughts on “Rediscovering Pink Floyd with Songbird

  1. saw this post earlier today. first thing i did after reachign home was to put on Atom Heart Mother.

    listening to “if” as i write this.

    absolutely rocking stuff overall.

  2. and absolutely beautiful lyrics. for some reason i’d ignored this album for a long time. and had never really observed the lyrics. your post has brought attention to it! good shyte wonly

    1. Really is awesome album. I suggest listening to it in full speakers (not headphones or ipod) but proper sound system and have maybe some intoxicant like rum along with it.

  3. Well, u did discover new things.
    I dont know about microblogging addon, but there is an addon called as lyric master for songbird that may pull out lyrics for the currently playing song from the net. Although it requires the id3 tags fro the playing files to be correct.

Leave a Reply

