I came across this review by Anna Pickard of the Guardian of the movie trailer of Revolutionary Road. It stars Leonardo Di Caprio and Kate Winslet and is directed by Sam Mendes.

A few excerpts which I found interesting.

About Leonardo Di Caprio:

We in the cheap seats wonder if there’s something magic in supermodel spittle that promises to keep Leo looking like he’s in primary school possibly into his 70s.

[…]

I guess I kind of like it,” says Leo, through gritted teeth.
Won’t you miss the city?” asks a heavily pregnant Kate. 
“Nothing’s permanent … “ replies the 12-year-old in a suit. 

About the trailer and the impact of the trailer:

Leonardo DiCaprio looks tortured. Kate Winslet looks miserable. If Titanic was the flush of first love, this is what happens when it subsequently all goes down the toilet.

[…]

Seriously, I feel like all the joy has been sucked from my soul, and I’ve only been watching this for one minute and 45 seconds. The film is two sodding hours long. I wonder if the cinema staff have to go in at the end of each screening and pick up not only the empty cups and sweetie wrappers but also the shattered dreams of any foolish youthful idealists in the audience and the hollow, desiccated shells of cinemagoers with nothing left to live for.

Prediction about the movie:

So, at the end of the day, is it a trailer that makes us want to rush out and watch the entire film? No, not really. It’s already raining, and we’re feeling a bit flat and fat and January-miserable and … no. It will probably win prizes, though. Armloads of ’em.

I saw the trailer myself and I tend to agree. Given the general mood of the day, I would be a tad wary of going for it. I saw Australia the other day and it was like watching a Gone With The Wind saga-esque drama with an Aussie accent – complete with racism, war, greed and villainy. Like what Anna Pickard says about Revolutionary Road, armloads of prizes am sure, for Hugh Jackman, Nicole Kidman, the kid who plays Nallah, maybe cinematography. But, not enjoyable watching.

Leave a Reply

