There is nothing more bewitching and mystical than a beautifully written lyric sung simply without any frills. This song is in that genre which intrigues you, seeking to know more. For those who need an introduction into the Sufi way of life, start here.

What I can make of this lyric myself:

Who am I? I don’t follow the ways of men. I don’t pray, I don’t indulge. I don’t belong to anywhere or anyone. I am no one you know. And I know no one else who is like me. Therefore I am my own self, my own master, my own mentor, my own nemesis.

Below is taken from the web. For a Google list of resources, click here

The Song itself

Na maen momin vich maseet aan

Na maen vich kufar diyan reet aan

Na maen paakaan vich paleet aan

Na maen moosa na pharaun.

Bulleh! ki jaana maen kaun

I am not a believer inside the mosque nor a pagan disciple of false rites

I am not in the pure or the impure. Neither am I Moses, nor the Pharaoh

Bulleh! I am unknown to myself

Na maen andar ved kitaab aan,

Na vich bhangaan na sharaab aan

Na vich rindaan masat kharaab aan

Na vich jaagan na vich saun.

Bulleh! ki jaana maen kaun.

I am not in the holy Vedas nor in opium, neither in wine

Nor in the intoxicated trance of a drunkard nor in wakefulness or sleep.

Bulleh! I am unknown to myself

Na vich shaadi na ghamnaaki

Na maen vich paleeti paaki

Na maen aabi na maen khaki

Na maen aatish na maen paun

Bulleh!, ki jaana maen kaun

I am not In happiness nor in sorrow neither in the clean, nor a filthy mire

I am not water nor earth neither fire nor from air

Bulleh! I am unknown to myself

Na maen arabi na lahori

Na maen hindi shehar nagauri

Na hindu na turak peshawri

Na maen rehnda vich nadaun

Bulla, ki jaana maen kaun

Not an Arab, nor Lahori neither Hindi, nor Nagauri

Hindu, Turk , nor Peshawari nor do I live in Nadaun

Bulleh! I am unknown to myself

Na maen bheth mazhab da paaya

Ne maen aadam havva jaaya

Na maen apna naam dharaaya

Na vich baitthan na vich bhaun

Bulleh , ki jaana maen kaun

I cannot be unearthed in the mysteries of religion, from Adam and Eve, I am not born

I am not the name I assume, I am not in stillness, nor on the move

Bulleh! I am unknown to myself

Avval aakhir aap nu jaana

Na koi dooja hor pehchaana

Maethon hor na koi siyaana

Bulla! ooh khadda hai kaun

Bulla, ki jaana maen kaun

At the end I only know myself, I cannot know any other.

Who could be wiser than I? Bulla asks, who then, stands here?

Bulleh! I am unknown to myself

One thought on “Bulla Ki Jaana

  1. True…great lyrics + simple renderring make this an all time great. In fact the whole Album displays a similar thread. My favs apart from Bulla ki jaana.. Tere Bin, Geet Hijar Da and Jugni.

Leave a Reply

